Sign in to follow this  
Josephv86

Sydney new to landboarding

Hi all,

I am new to landboarding. Have done minimal kitesurfing, and wind surfing.

Just bought a 4.5 meter kite to play around with before getting a depower kite.

What I am wondering is where evereyone does it. I found a thread from 2014, but nothing newer. 

I found a large field near Warwick Farm, but is there any beaches that people landboard on. Willing to travel to location. 

I used to live in the Syndey region, never kited at the time, so don't know about beaches in Sydney but I know some of the Sydney kiters head south for their sessions, here are some of the locations they go to:

1 Windang beach (south of Wollongong)

2 Seven Mile beach, near Nowra, drop in to Gerroa to park your car and start from there.

The above two beaches will avoid getting into strife with crowded beaches.

And when there is no wind, take your landboard for a downhill session, find some fire trails. The Royal National Park may offer some oppertunities, it is on the southern outskirts of Syndey. Lady Carrington drive has some hills might be worth a try, I used to ride there with my push bike, it is a dirt road perfect for the landboard.

Regards,

Norman

hi joseph,

I'm not a land boarder yet!!  but I'm always up for a static session,

I live in pennant hills and have flown at Parramatta park, out Kellyville way, on the central coast beaches and parks, a dee why park,  even tried a Hornsby park (not much luck)..

I'm an unemployed bum with a busy lifestyle, so I got some time, :beach::danceparty:

plus could use some help learning to control my quad line kite, flown it 4-5 times and only stayed grounded once or twice, (guessing it probably normal) if anyone out there that feels like giving me a hand it would be greatly appreciated,,  

Phil.

Hi ;@Josephv86

Some places to try on the South side:

Salt Pand Creek Reserve - grass - Westerlies

Maianbar sand flats - Easterlies - low tide