alison melia

Hello. newbie Q bout depower kites-

Hi guys great forum I am stoked to b here amongst people who know their stuff coz I am a newbie. I aspire to jump in sand dunes  n mountain board on the beach. I have been learning with an ozone 1.6m trainer and recently a p Lynn 3m hornet which I scared my newbie self with lots power. So I have a question please, about depower kites- how much of a kite's power is lost when u sheet right out? They look so manageable compared to a fixed line kite? I Think I want one thanx

Welcome @alison melia

The amount of de-power depends very much on the kite.

Some do more than others.

You should find as a rule that high aspect kites will give a greater range of power adjustment over lower aspect kites.

Good to see you are slowly moving up to a bigger kite each time, a great way to progress.

The skills you learn can be moved along as you get bigger and bigger kites.

You will also find that the smaller kites move far quicker than the big ones, so if you are gaining skills on a small kite, you should have little problems going to a bigger one.

The big kites move slower, and as a result produce power the same way. The small kites move quick, and produce power quickly, and are often the kites that catch you napping.

For jumping wait till you have a bigger kite. 4+m kite.

It will have more "float" (softer landings) rather than a smaller kite which will have more "pop" (faster lifting), but pop doesn't work on the way down, only on the way up.

Depower kites are bigger than fixed bridle kites for the same power.

So an 8m depower may equal a 4m fixed bridle kite. Again it depends on the two kites (high aspect, low aspect, race kite, etc).

Where are you based?

We might have a forum member close by that can give you some pointers or even a go on some of their kites. 

Hope that's help a little.

Hi Nigel

Thankyou u just taught me lots

Took me a while to reply coz I'm a 53yo newbie to the internet too. N a slow letter writer